The Knockando Distillery takes it’s name from the area of Speyside, in the Scottish Highlands, it is located. The small village only contains just a few small houses and is set in a picturesque woodland, with it’s name meaning ‘Little Black Hill’. Even today it is home to only 200 people, the majority of which have links to the distillery itself.
Founded by John Thomson in 1898, it was the first distillery in Scotland to be built with all electric lighting. He selected it’s location for the waters of the Cardnach Spring, which have been naturally filtered through layers of peat and rock, originally from rainfall and melting snow. Thomson, knowing the importance of this water to his whisky, acquired the sole rights to it’s use when he built the Knockando Distillery.
A few short years later, in 1905, saw a change in ownership with the distillery purchased by W & A Gilbey, a gin producer from London. At the same time an all important link to the Great North of Scotland Railway was built, allowing an increase in distribution and popularity across the whole of the UK.